The life that I…

The life that I have
Is all that I have
And the life that I have
Is yours
The love that I have
Of the life that I have
Is yours and yours and yours

A sleep I shall have
A rest I shall have
Yet death will be but a pause

For the peace of my years
In the long green grass
Will be yours and yours
And yours

Leo Marks, the English cryptographer for the British SOE (Special Operations Executive), used poems to encrypt messages. He believed poems that have been published were insecure because enemy cryptographers were able to locate the poem from published sources and be able to solve the message. To counter this, Marks used his own written creations. ‘The Life That I Have’, an original poem composed on Christmas Eve 1943 and was written by Marks in memory of his lover, Ruth, who had recently died in a plane crash in Canada. On 24 March 1944, the poem was issued by Marks to Violette Szabo. Violette was touched by the poem and asked who had written it, Mark brushed off the question with a promise to find out.

Leave a Reply

